Origins essay

Ho spent the summer in Paris trying to lock in the agreement, but the French government was purposely evasive, as it was conspiring to undermine Vietnamese independence.  Ho was nevertheless well received in the French media.  A French reporter who met him noted his “engaging manner and extraordinary gift for making contact,” which “at once brought a warm and direct exchange of views and gave a startlingly fresh ring to commonplace words.” [25]   Ho returned to Vietnam in October and appealed to the Vietnamese people for patience.  The French, however, showed their hand on November 22, 1946.  Using a dispute over control of customs in Haiphong as a pretext, French warships bombarded the unprotected port city, killing at least 6,000 and wounding some 25,000.  On December 19, Ho issued a call for “nationwide resistance”:

Since this dictionary went up, it has benefited from the suggestions of dozens of people I have never met, from around the world. Tremendous thanks and appreciation to all of you.

Scheduled site maintenance, Sunday, Oct 8, 10pm EST / 7pm PST will be offline for about 10 minutes at 02:00:00 UTC time, Monday, October 9 (that’s Sunday, Oct 8, 10 . EST / 7 . PST). The down-time will allow a design team to implement a new and improved that will have the quality of the old site but offer new features that users have requested. Most importantly, the site will become mobile-friendly and meet the requirements of new technologies, which will help it survive and prosper. It will be the biggest change to etymonline since the website came online; the goal is to make it better without sacrificing what already makes it good.

Origins essay

origins essay

Media:

origins essayorigins essayorigins essayorigins essay